Page 41 - 2007_2008_Annual_Report

Basic HTML Version

For a portion of the year the Board of Directors was comprised of not more than seven members.
The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations and the Tribal Councils nominate four of these
members and the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority nominates three members to the Board.
Only individuals registered as gaming employees under
The Alcohol and Gaming Regulation Act, 1997
may be members of the Board.
As per the Casino Operating Agreement, SIGA having met the requirements of Sustained Progress, a
change in the structure and composition of the SIGA Board took place on January 30, 2008. The new
Board structure will be comprised of no more than thirteen Directors. The Federation of Saskatchewan
Indian Nations and the Tribal Councils nominate these members (one per Tribal Council).
The 2007/08 Directors are as follows:
• Ray Ahenakew (appointed January 30, 2007)
• Vice Chief Edward Henderson
• Chief Isabel O’Soup (appointed April 10, 2007)
• Gary LaPlante
• Delores Burkart (completed term – January 2008)
• Carole Bryant (completed term – January 2008)
• Robin Woodward (completed term – January 2008)
• Chief Felix Thomas (appointed March 2008)
• Chief Reginald Bellerose (appointed March 2008)
• Chief Brian Standingready (appointed March 2008)
• Robert Gerow (appointed March 2008)
Committee Structure
The Board may appoint any committees that it considers necessary for the efficient conduct of the affairs
and business of SIGA and may prescribe the duties of any committee it appoints. It is important to note
that assignment of responsibility by the Board to a committee does not absolve the full Board from
responsibility for a committee’s work or decisions. The Board Chair is ex-officio on all committees and
may attend any meeting as deemed appropriate. All committees have established terms of reference
governing their conduct and mandate.
The Board of Directors has established the following committees:
Audit and Finance, Human Resources and Compensation, Ethics Advisory, and Governance.
Audit and Finance Committee – Carole Bryant & Isabel O’Soup, Chairs
The Audit and Finance Committee monitors the financial performance and internal controls of SIGA,
assesses risk management strategies, and acts as a liaison between the internal and external auditors and
the Board. This committee is responsible for the internal audit function and has retained an independent
internal auditor who has unimpeded access to corporate information and reports directly to the Audit
and Finance Committee. The committee monitors internal controls over the financial reporting process,
auditing matters and financial reporting issues. At the present time, SIGA is audited by the Provincial
Auditor of Saskatchewan. In addition to the statutory audit requirements, the Provincial Auditor submits
management letters that contain internal control recommendations and identification of management
and system control risks. The Provincial Auditor has examined the corporation’s financial statements
and issued an Auditor’s Report included in this annual report. This committee met twelve times in the
2007/08 fiscal year.