Page 57 - 2008_2009_Annual_Report

Basic HTML Version

Board of Directors
Ray Ahenakew of the Ahtahkakoop First Nation
was appointed Chair of the SIGA Board in
January 2007. Ray was recently profiled as
one of Saskatchewan’s top 10 most influential
businessmen and was the 2009 award winner
of the Raj Manek Above & Beyond Award. He has recently
stepped down as Acting President of the Saskatchewan
Indian Institute of Technologies and now serves in the capacity
of business development advisor. Mr. Ahenakew is currently
a board member of Peace Hills Trust and has been serving
on the Aboriginal Committee for the Auditor General for the
past five years. Ray also served as CEO of the Meadow Lake
Tribal Council for 17 years.
Vice Chief Edward Henderson of the Montreal
Lake Cree Nation joined the Board in December
2005. He is past Chair of Little Red Reserve
School Authority and Woodland Cree Board
and currently serves on the boards of PAGC
Education, Forestry, Women’s Commission, Sports Culture
and Recreation, Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation, First
Nations University of Canada and the Saskatchewan Indian
Education & Training Commission. Edward is currently in his
second term as Vice Chief of the Prince Albert Grand Council.
Mr. LaPlante is currently in his sixth year as a
SIGA Board Member, having been appointed
in 2003 after serving briefly in 2000. He is also
a Board Member and Chair of the Reserve
Creation Committee for the First Nations University
of Canada. A member of the Moosomin First Nation, Gary has
a Bachelor of Arts Degree and a Business Administration
Diploma. His work is primarily in Inter-Governmental Relations
as a Policy Advisor and Liaison. He also dedicates time toward
the Young Chipewyan First Nation Reclamation.
Isabel O’Soup of Norquay has been a board
member with the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming
Authority since April 2007 and is former elected
Chief of the Key First Nation. She was President of
Women on the Move and a member of the board
for the First Nations University of Canada and the Saulteaux
Healing and Wellness Centre. Chief O’Soup is also a current
board member for the Sunrise Regional Health Authority.
Mr. Gerow was appointed to the SIGA Board of
Directors by the Agency Chiefs Tribal Council
(ACTC) in2008.Bob, amemberof theVictoireMétis
Local, has worked in First Nations Education and
Administration for the past 33 years. He is currently
the Executive Director with the Agency Chiefs Tribal Council.
Bob holds a B.A., B. ED, P.G.D. and Masters in Education.
Chief Wuttunee (B.Ed) joined the SIGA Board in
2008. He has been Chief of the Red Pheasant
First Nation for the last three years and is presently
the Tribal Chair for the Battlefords Agency Tribal
Chiefs (BATC).
Chief Wuttunee is by trade an educator. His commitment
to youth has been evident with his involvement in various
youth initiatives and he continues to strive to ensure that youth
are given opportunities not only in sports but other sectors
as well. He is active with Elders in his community and the
Cree culture, being involved in many different aspects of
promoting our way of life as First Nations people.
Tribal Chief Thomas joined the SIGA Board of
Directors in 2008. He was elected Tribal Chief
of the Saskatoon Tribal Council in October 2008
and has sat on a variety of boards including IGC,
IGR and HSDC. Tribal Chief Thomas has also
participated on the committee on Health for the Assembly of
First Nations. Previously, Chief of Kinistin First Nation, Felix
participated on the Chiefs Committee for the Assembly of First
Nations. Tribal Chief Thomas holds a Bachelor of Arts degree.
In 2008, Chief Bellerose joined the Saskatchewan
Indian Gaming Authority Board of Directors. He
was re-elected in February of 2009 to his third
term as Chief of Muskowekan First Nation. Chief
Bellerose has a Bachelor of Arts degree from
Concordia University College, Edmonton and has completed
a Masters program in Project Management at the University
of Saskatchewan.
In 2008, Chief Standingready rejoined the Board.
He was first appointed to the Board in 2003
holding the position of Chair until January 2007.
Brian has held a variety of positions including
Chief, council member, and band manager at the
White Bear First Nation, near Carlyle. He has also served as
the district representative for the Yorkton Tribal Council and
has sat on numerous boards, committees and commissions.
Chief Standingready was re-elected as Chief of White Bear
First Nation in 2007.
Senator Roland crowe
Senator Roland Crowe of the Piapot First Nation
joined the SIGA Board in an advisory capacity in
2009. Senator Crowe began a career in public
life in the 1960’s, serving two years as Councillor
and six years as Chief of his home community.
In the 1980’s, he committed himself to work in the interests
of all Saskatchewan First Nations, serving fours years as Vice
Chief and two terms as elected Chief of the FSIN. One of his
most notable achievements was negotiating the original gaming
agreement with the province of Saskatchewan.