Page 60 - 2009_2010_Annual_Report

Basic HTML Version

Board of Directors
Ray Ahenakew of the Ahtahkakoop First Nation was appointed Chair of the SIGA Board in
January 2007. Ray was recently profiled as one of Saskatchewan’s top 10 most influential
businessmen and was the 2009 award winner of the Raj Manek Above & Beyond Award. He has
recently stepped down as Acting President of the Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies
and now serves in the capacity of business development advisor. Mr. Ahenakew is currently
a board member of Peace Hills Trust and has been serving on the Aboriginal Committee for
the Auditor General for the past five years. Ray also served as CEO of the Meadow Lake Tribal
Council for 17 years, and past appointments include Chair of NorSask Forest Products, co-chair
of the National Labour Training Market Board, Champion and Aboriginal co-chair of the National
Aboriginal Management Board, Human Resources Development Canada, Agency Tribal Chief,
Vice Chief of FSIN and a member of the Board of Governors at the University of Regina.
Chief Richard Ben joined the SIGA Board in October 2009. Prior to being elected as Chief of
Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation, he has served one term as a Band Councillor. Chief Ben’s
experience includes terms with the FSIN Education and Justice Commissions, as well as a
number of boards with the Meadow Lake Tribal Council. Chief Ben’s background also includes
three years in the army reserve, four years as a Recreation Director on his home reserve, as
well as an education in Police Sciences, and Information Technology.
In 2008, Chief Reginald Bellerose joined the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority Board
of Directors. He was re-elected in February of 2009 to his third term as Chief of Muskowekan
First Nation. Chief Bellerose has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Concordia University College,
Edmonton and has completed a Masters program in Project Management at the University of
Carole Bryant rejoined the SIGA Board in January 2010. Carole is currently VP of Administration
and Quality Improvement with the Ranch Ehrlo Society. She has had a diverse career experience
in social work, community development, HR, corporate services, board governance and
communication. Carole is the president of the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers
(SASW) and former President of the Regina and District Food Bank. She was one of the founding
board members of SaskPower Commercial Inc. Carole recently completed her second term on
the Luther College Board of Directors, and is a director of the Regina Rotary Club. She is also a
former board member of Investment Saskatchewan. Carole has both an undergraduate and a
master’s degree in social work. She completed her MBA from Queen’s University in Kingston
and has her CMA designation.
Bob Gerow was appointed to the SIGA Board of Directors by the Agency Chiefs Tribal Council
(ACTC) in 2008. Bob, a member of the Victoire Métis Local, has worked in First Nations
Education and Administration for the past 33 years. He is currently the Executive Director with
the Agency Chiefs Tribal Council. Bob holds a B.A., B. ED, P.G.D. and Masters in Education.
Vice Chief Edward Henderson of the Montreal Lake Cree Nation joined the Board in December
2005. He is past Chair of Little Red Reserve School Authority and Woodland Cree Board and
currently serves on the boards of PAGC Education, Forestry, Women’s Commission, Sports
Culture and Recreation, Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation, First Nations University of
Canada and the Saskatchewan Indian Education & Training Commission. Edward is currently
in his second term as Vice Chief of the Prince Albert Grand Council.