Page 60 - SIGA_2010-11 Annual Report

Basic HTML Version

Ray Ahenakew of the Ahtahkakoop First Nation was appointed Chair of the SIGA Board in January
2007. Ray was profiled as one of Saskatchewan’s top 10 most influential businessmen and was
the 2009 award winner of the Raj Manek Above & Beyond Award. He has recently stepped down
as Acting President of the Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies and now serves in the
capacity of business development advisor. Mr. Ahenakew is currently a board member of Peace
Hills Trust and has been serving on the Aboriginal Committee for the Auditor General for the past
five years. Ray also served as CEO of the Meadow Lake Tribal Council for 17 years, and past
appointments include Chair of NorSask Forest Products, co-chair of the National Labour Training
Market Board, Champion and Aboriginal co-chair of the National Aboriginal Management Board,
Human Resources Development Canada, Agency Tribal Chief, Vice Chief of FSIN and a member
of the Board of Governors at the University of Regina.
Chief Richard Ben joined the SIGA Board in October 2009. Prior to being elected as Chief of
Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation, he served one term as a Band Councillor. Chief Ben’s experience
includes terms with the FSIN Education and Justice Commissions, as well as a number of boards
with the Meadow Lake Tribal Council. Chief Ben’s background also includes three years in the army
reserve, four years as a Recreation Director on his home reserve, as well as an education in Police
Sciences, and Information Technology.
In 2008, Chief Reginald Bellerose joined the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority Board of
Directors. He was re-elected in February of 2009 to his third term as Chief of Muskowekan First
Nation. Chief Bellerose has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Concordia University College, Edmonton,
and has completed a Masters program in Project Management at the University of Saskatchewan.
Carole Bryant rejoined the SIGA Board in January 2010. Carole is currently VP of Administration
and Quality Improvement with the Ranch Ehrlo Society. She has had a diverse career experience
in social work, community development, HR, corporate services, board governance and
communication. Carole is the president of the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers (SASW)
and former President of the Regina and District Food Bank. She was one of the founding board
Members of SaskPower Commercial Inc. Carole recently completed her second term on the Luther
College Board of Directors, and is the vice-president of the Regina Rotary Club. She is also a former
board member of Investment Saskatchewan. Carole has both an undergraduate and a master’s
degree in social work. She completed her MBA from Queen’s University in Kingston and has her
CMA designation.
Bob Gerow was appointed to the SIGA Board of Directors by the Agency Chiefs Tribal Council
(ACTC) in 2008. Bob, a member of the Victoire Métis Local, has worked in First Nations Education
and Administration for the past 33 years. He is currently the Executive Director with the Agency
Chiefs Tribal Council. Bob holds a B.A., B. ED, P.G.D. and Masters in Education.
Chief Edward Henderson of the Montreal Lake Cree Nation joined the Board in December 2005.
He is past Chair of Little Red Reserve School Authority and Woodland Cree Board and currently
serves on the boards of PAGC Education, Forestry, Women’s Commission, Sports Culture and
Recreation, Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation, First Nations University of Canada and the
Saskatchewan Indian Education & Training Commission. Edward completed a second term as
Vice Chief of the Prince Albert Grand Council, and was recently elected Chief of the Montreal Lake
First Nation.
Gary LaPlante has been a member of the SIGA Board since 2003, after serving briefly in 2000.
Gary has served as a Board Member and Chair of the Reserve Creation Committee for the First
Nations University of Canada. A member of the Moosomin First Nation, Gary has a Bachelor of
Arts Degree and a Business Administration Diploma. His work is primarily in Inter-Governmental
Relations as a Policy Advisor and Liaison. He also dedicates time toward the Young Chipewyan First
Nation Reclamation and the Moosomin TLE Saskatoon selections.
Board of Directors