Page 63 - SIGA_2010-11 Annual Report

Basic HTML Version

The Board of Directors was comprised of twelve Members for a portion of the year and thirteen Members
for the remainder. The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations and the Tribal Councils nominate
these Members (one per Tribal Council). Only individuals registered as gaming employees under The
Alcohol and Gaming Regulation Act 1997 may be Members of the Board.
As per the Casino Operating Agreement, SIGA, having met the requirements of sustained progress, a
change in the structure and composition of the SIGA Board took place on January 30, 2008. The new
Board structure is comprised of no more than 13 Directors and will have a Senate appointment as per
the FSIN Legislative Assembly Senate Act.The 2010/11 Directors are as follows:
Ray Ahenakew
Chief Edward Henderson
Isabel O’Soup
Gary LaPlante
Tribal Chief Felix Thomas
Chief Reginald Bellerose
Chief Brian Standingready
Robert Gerow
Chief Richard Ben
Carol Bryant
Chief Sheldon Wuttunee left the Board in April 2010
Chief Shirley Wolfe-Keller left the Board in February 2011
Chief Larry Ahenakew joined the Board in May 2010
Chief Perry Bellegarde joined the Board in June 2010
Chief Delbert Wapass joined the Board in February 2011
The Board also has an Advisor:
Senate Advisor, Roland Crowe
The Board may appoint any committees that it considers necessary for the efficient conduct of the
affairs and business of SIGA and may prescribe the duties of any committee it appoints. It is important
to note that assignment of responsibility by the Board to a committee does not absolve the full Board
from responsibility for a committee’s work or decisions. The Chair is ex-officio on all committees and
may attend any meeting as deemed appropriate. All committees have established terms of reference
governing their conduct and mandate. In 2010/11, the Board of Directors reviewed its committee
structure and made the following changes. The Human Resources & Compensation committee
was amalgamated with the Ethics Advisory Committee and a new Strategic Affairs Committee was
established with the following four committees now in place: Audit and Finance, Human Resources,
Compensation & Ethics Advisory, Governance and Strategic Affairs.
The Audit and Finance Committee monitors the financial performance and internal controls of SIGA,
assesses risk management strategies, and acts as a liaison between the internal and external auditors
and the Board. This committee is responsible for the internal audit function and has retained an
independent internal auditor who has unimpeded access to corporate information and reports directly to
the Audit and Finance committee. The committee monitors internal controls over the financial reporting
process, auditing matters and financial reporting issues. The SIGA audit is completed by the audit
firm Deloitte and Touche. In addition to the statutory audit requirements, Deloitte and Touche submits
management letters that contain internal control recommendations and identification of management
and system control risks. Deloitte and Touche has examined the corporation’s financial statements
and issued an auditor’s report included in this annual report. Deloitte & Touche provided non-audit
services (JD Edwards software technical support service provider) totalling $ 49,940.31 this year. In
2009/2010, Deloitte & Touche provided non-audit services (JD Edwards software technical support
service provider) totalling $252,94.32. This committee met twelve times in the 2010/11 fiscal year.