Page 68 - 2012_Annual Report

Basic HTML Version

Board of Directors
Former Acting Chair – 2011-2012 Chief Edward Henderson of the Montreal Lake Cree Nation joined the
Board in December 2005 (1st Term – November 6, 2003). He is a past Chair of the Little Red Reserve
School Authority and Woodland Cree Board and currently serves on the boards of PAGC Education,
Forestry, Women’s Commission, Sports Culture and Recreation, Saskatchewan Indian Equity Foundation,
First Nations University of Canada and the Saskatchewan Indian Education & Training Commission.
Edward completed a second term as Vice Chief of the Prince Albert Grand Council, and was recently
elected Chief of the Montreal Lake First Nation.
Chief Larry Ahenakew was appointed to the SIGA Board of Directors on May 11, 2010. Originally from
Ahtahkakoop Cree First Nation, Chief Ahenakew represents the Battlefords Agency Tribal Chiefs (BATC)
where he was appointed Tribal Chief in April 2010. Chief Ahenakew graduated from the University
of Saskatchewan with a Native Studies degree. Chief Ahenakew was formerly a band councillor on
his reserve, which he held for twelve years before he decided to take on the larger role of Chief.
Chief Ahenakew is currently fulfilling a third term.
Chief Richard Ben joined the SIGA Board on October 30, 2009. Prior to being elected as Chief of Makwa
Sahgaiehcan First Nation, he served one term as a band councillor. Chief Ben’s experience includes
terms with the FSIN Education and Justice Commissions, as well as a number of boards with the
Meadow Lake Tribal Council. Chief Ben’s background also includes three years in the army reserve,
four years as a Recreation Director on his home reserve, as well as an education in Police Sciences
and Information Technology.
Chief Perry Bellegarde joined the SIGA Board on June 21, 2010. A member of the Little Black Bear First
Nation, Chief Bellegarde served for 12 years on the executive of the Touchwood File Hills-Qu’Appelle
Tribal Council, Including terms as the Vice-President/Assistant Tribal Representative and the President/
Tribal Council Representative. Chief Bellegarde served as Chief of the FSIN from 1998 to 2003, where
he negotiated and signed the twenty-five year gaming agreement with the Province of Saskatchewan.
Chief Bellegarde served as a band councillor with the Little Black Bear First Nation and was elected Chief
in 2010.
On March 19, 2008, Chief Reginald Bellerose joined the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority Board
of Directors. He was re-elected in February of 2009 to his third term as Chief of Muskowekwan First
Nation. Chief Bellerose has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Concordia University College in Edmonton,
and MBA in Project Management from the University of Saskatchewan.
Carole Bryant rejoined the SIGA Board on January 25, 2010. Carole is currently VP of Administration and
Quality Improvement with the Ranch Ehrlo Society. She has diverse career experience in social work,
community development, human services, corporate services, board governance and communications.
Carole is the past-president of the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers and former President of
the Regina and District Food Bank. In November of 2011 Carole was elected Treasurer of the Association
of Social Work Boards, headquartered in Culpeper, VA. Carole is vice-president of the Regina Rotary Club
and Knox-Metropolitan Church. She is a former board member of Investment Saskatchewan. Carole has
both an undergraduate and master’s degree in social work. She also completed her MBA from Queen’s
University in Kingston and has her CMA designation.
Bob Gerow was appointed to the SIGA Board of Directors by the Agency Chiefs Tribal Council (ACTC) on
March 19, 2008. Bob, a member of the Victoire Métis Local, has worked in First Nations Education and
Administration for the past 34 years. He is currently the Executive Director with the Agency Chiefs Tribal
Council. Bob holds a B.A., B.Ed, P.G.D. and a Masters in Education.