Page 73 - 2012_Annual Report

Basic HTML Version

SIGA’s Governance Practices
Does SIGA Align?
NP 58-201, section 3.1
The Board should have the majority of
independent Directors.
The Directors on the SIGA Board are (13 out of 13) independent.
*SIGA’s Board composition is 13 Members with 13 of those Directors being
confirmed as of this date.
NI 58-101F1, sections 1(a) and (d)
1 (a) Disclose the identity of Directors who are
(b) Disclose the identity of Directors who are not
independent and the basis for that determination;
(c) Disclose whether the majority of Directors are
independent; and
(d) Disclose whether a Director is a Director of any
other issuer that is a reporting issuer.
Edward Henderson, Vice Chair: Independent – Chief, Montreal Lake Cree Nation
Felix Thomas, Director: Independent – Tribal Chief, Saskatoon Tribal Council
Reginald Bellerose, Director: Independent – Chief, Muskowekwan First Nation
Brian Standingready, Director: Independent – Chief, White Bear First Nation
Robert Gerow, Director: Independent – Executive Director, Agency Chiefs
Tribal Council
Richard Ben, Director: Independent – Chief, Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation
Carole Bryant, Director: Independent – CFO, Ranch Erhlo Society
Larry Ahenakew, Director: Independent – Chief, Ahtahkakoop First Nation
Perry Bellegarde, Director: Independent – Chief, Little Black Bear First Nations
Delbert Wapass, Director: Independent – Chief, Thunderchild First Nation
Kevin Poock, Director: Independent – Chartered Financial Planner, Battlefords
Tribal Council
Amanda Louison, Director, Independent – Yorkton Tribal Council
Gary LaPlante, Director: Independent – Political and Policy Advisor Battlefords
Tribal Council
Isabel O’Soup, Director: Independent – Consultant, Key First Nation
Kirk Goodtrack, Director, Independent – Lawyer, Wood Mountain First Nation
This criterion is met by all current Board Members being external directors (i.e. not
managers or employees of SIGA) and by having each Board member complete
and sign code of conduct acknowledgement and conflict of interest disclosure
forms. All Directors have completed COI forms on file. Section 1(d) does not
apply to SIGA, as SIGA does not have share capital, and is not an issuer.
NP 58-201, section 3.2
3.2 The Chair of the board should be an
independent director who is the effective leader of
the board, who ensures that the board’s agenda will
enable it to successfully carry out its duties.
The Chair of the Board is an independent Director who provides leadership in
board organization, processes, effectiveness and renewal and serves as a liaison
between the roles of the Board, shareholders and that of President and CEO.
CSA Corporate Governance Policy