Page 65 - SIGA Annual Report 2013

Basic HTML Version

Chief Larry Ahenakew
, B.A, Chief of the Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation, was appointed to the SIGA Board of
Directors on May 10, 2010. Chief Ahenakew was born and raised on the Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation. He
represents the Battlefords Agency Tribal Chiefs (BATC) where he was appointed Tribal Chief in April 2010.
Chief Ahenakew graduated from the University of Saskatchewan, obtaining a Native Studies Degree with
a Minor in Sociology, Political Studies and Commerce. Chief Ahenakew was formerly a Band Councillor on
his reserve which he held for eleven years before he decided to take on the more hectic, responsible role of
Chief. Chief Ahenakew was re-elected as Chief by his people in July, 2011.
Chief Richard Ben
joined the SIGA Board in October 2009. Prior to being elected as Chief of Makwa
Sahgaiehcan First Nation, he has served one term as a Band Councillor. Chief Ben’s experience includes terms
with the FSIN Education and Justice Commissions, as well as a number of boards with the Meadow Lake Tribal
Council. Chief Ben’s background also includes three years in the army reserve, four years as a Recreation
Director on his home reserve, as well as an education in Police Sciences, and Information Technology.
Dr. Ron Martin
of the Fond-du-Lac First Nation was appointed to the SIGA Board on October 2012.
Dr. Martin has achieved the Native Law Program, Bachelor of Arts Advanced Degree in Sociology, Bachelor
of Science Advanced Degree in Anatomy and a Doctor of Medical Dentistry Degree; he was also actively
involved in many extracurricular activities. He owns and operates a busy and expanding dental practice
(Dene Dent Family Dentistry) on Treaty 4 territory near Fort Qu’Appelle.
Chief Delbert Wapass
is a fluent speaker of the Cree language, from Thunderchild First Nation. Chief
Wapass holds a Bachelor Degree in Native Studies from the University of Regina, and a Master of Education
(M.Ed) from the University of Saskatchewan. Chief Wapass has previously served with the Federation
of Saskatchewan Indian Nations as both the Second and Third Vice Chief, with portfolio experience in
economic development, education and health. A very traditional and cultural person, Chief Wapass was
raised by his grandparents on the Thunderchild First Nation.
Carole Bryant
rejoined the SIGA Board in January 2010. Carole is currently VP of Administration and
Quality Improvement with the Ranch Ehrlo Society. She has had a diverse career experience in social
work, community development, HR, corporate services, board governance and communication. Carole is
the president of the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers (SASW) and is a director of the Regina
Rotary Club. Carole has a master’s degree in social work. She completed her MBA from Queen’s University
in Kingston and has her CMA designation.
Chief Marie Ann Daywalker-Pelletier
was appointed from the File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council in early
January 2013 to the SIGA Board of Directors. Currently she is the Chief of Okanese First Nation, and has
filled the position since March 1981 – serving a total of 32 consecutive years to date. Chief Daywalker-
Pelletier both past and present sits on many boards and commissions, for example she is currently the
Chair of the Saskatchewan Indian Women’s Commission, Chair of the TFHQ Safe Shelters and a commission
member of the Health and Social Development Commission to name a few.
Senator Roland Crowe
of the Piapot First Nation joined the SIGA Board in an advisory capacity in 2009.
Senator Crowe began a career in public life in the 1960’s, serving two years as Councillor and six years
as Chief of his home community. In the 1980’s, he committed himself to work in the interests of all
Saskatchewan First Nations, serving fours years as Vice Chief and two terms as Chief of the FSIN. One
of his most notable achievements was negotiating the original gaming agreement with the province of