Page 65 - SIGA Annual Report 2014

Basic HTML Version

Chief Larry Ahenakew
, B.A, Chief of the
Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation, was appointed to the SIGA
Board of Directors on May 10, 2010. Chief Ahenakew
was born and raised on the Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation.
He represents the Battlefords Agency Tribal Chiefs
(BATC) where he was appointed Tribal Chief in April
2010. Chief Ahenakew graduated from the University
of Saskatchewan, obtaining a Native Studies Degree
with a Minor in Sociology, Political Studies and
Commerce. Chief Ahenakew was formerly a Band
Councillor on his reserve which he held for eleven
years before he decided to take on the more hectic,
responsible role of Chief. Chief Ahenakew was
re-elected as Chief by his people in July, 2011.
Chief Richard Ben
joined the SIGA Board in
October 2009. Prior to being elected as Chief of Makwa
Sahgaiehcan First Nation, he has served one term as a
Band Councillor. Chief Ben’s experience includes terms
with the FSIN Education and Justice Commissions, as
well as a number of boards with the Meadow Lake Tribal
Council. Chief Ben’s background also includes three
years in the army reserve, four years as a Recreation
Director on his home reserve, as well as an education
in Police Sciences, and Information Technology.
Dr. Ron Martin
of the Fond-du-Lac First Nation
was appointed to the SIGA Board on October 2012.
Dr. Martin has completed the Native Law Program;
Bachelor of Arts Advanced Degree in Sociology;
Bachelor of Science Advanced Degree in Anatomy;
and a Doctor of Medical Dentistry Degree. He owns
and operates a busy and expanding dental practice
(Dene Dent Family Dentistry) on Treaty 4 territory
near Fort Qu’Appelle.
Chief Delbert Wapass
is a fluent speaker of the
Cree language, from Thunderchild First Nation. Chief
Wapass holds a Bachelor Degree in Native Studies from
the University of Regina, and a Master of Education
(M.Ed) from the University of Saskatchewan. Chief
Wapass has previously served with the Federation of
Saskatchewan Indian Nations as both the Second and
Third Vice Chief, with portfolio experience in economic
development, education and health. A very traditional
and cultural person, Chief Wapass was raised by his
grandparents on the Thunderchild First Nation.
Carole Bryant
rejoined the SIGA Board in January
2010. Carole is currently VP of Administration for Ranch
Ehrlo Society. She has had a diverse career experience
in social work, community development, HR, corporate
services, board governance and communication. Carole
is the past president of the Saskatchewan Association
of Social Workers (SASW) and is President of the
Regina Rotary Club. Carole has a master’s degree in
social work. She completed her MBA from Queen’s
University in Kingston and has her CMA designation.
Chief Marie Ann Daywalker-Pelletier
appointed from the File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council
in early January 2013 to the SIGA Board of Directors.
Currently she is the Chief of Okanese First Nation, and
has filled the position since March 1981 – serving a
total of 32 consecutive years to date. Chief Daywalker-
Pelletier both past and present sits on many boards and
commissions, for example she is currently the Chair of
the Saskatchewan Indian Women’s Commission, Chair
of the TFHQ Safe Shelters and a commission member
of the Health and Social Development Commission to
name a few.
Senator Roland Crowe
of the Piapot First Nation
joined the SIGA Board in an advisory capacity in
2009. Senator Crowe began a career in public life in
the 1960’s, serving two years as Councillor and six
years as Chief of his home community. In the 1980’s,
he committed himself to work in the interests of all
Saskatchewan First Nations, serving four years as Vice
Chief and two terms as Chief of the FSIN. One of his
most notable achievements was negotiating the original
gaming agreement with the province of Saskatchewan.
Ruby Williams, Board Secretary