SIGA_Annual_Report_2015 - page 80

Board Chair
– Chief Reginald Bellerose
joined the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority Board of Directors
in 2008. He was re-elected in April of 2011 to his fourth term (first elected February 28, 2005) as Chief of
Muskowekan First Nation. Chief Bellerose has a Bachelor of Arts degree from Concordia University College in
Edmonton and has completed a Master’s Degree in Project Management at the University of Saskatchewan.
Chief Larry Ahenakew
, B.A. Chief of the Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation, was appointed to the SIGA Board of
Directors on May 10, 2010. Chief Ahenakew was born and raised on the Ahtahkakoop Cree Nation. He represents
the Battlefords Agency Tribal Chiefs (BATC) where he was appointed Tribal Chief in April 2010. Chief Ahenakew
graduated from the University of Saskatchewan, obtaining a Native Studies Degree. He was formerly a Band
Councillor on his reserve, a position that he held for eleven years before he decided to take on the more hectic,
responsible role of Chief. Chief Ahenakew was re-elected by his people in July 2013.
Chief Darcy Bear
is the Chief of the Whitecap Dakota First Nation. He has dedicated half of his life to the
betterment of his community and is currently in his seventh consecutive term as Chief. Chief Bear has been a
recipient of many awards including the Commemorative Medal for the Centennial of Saskatchewan in 2005, the
Saskatchewan Order of Merit in 2011, and the Saskatchewan Diamond Jubilee Saskatchewan in 2012. Chief
Bear also received his honorary Doctorate of Law from the University of Saskatchewan in 2014. He has been the
driving force behind extensive economic development within the community, and improved the quality of life for
Whitecap residents. To date there has been approximately $100 million in capital investment in the community .
and a reduced unemployment rate from 70% to 5%.
Chief Richard Ben
joined the SIGA Board in October 2009. Prior to being elected as Chief of Makwa
Sahgaiehcan First Nation, he had served one term as a Band Councillor. Chief Ben’s experience includes terms
with the FSIN Education and Justice Commissions, and a number of boards with the Meadow Lake Tribal Council.
Chief Ben’s background also includes three years in the army reserve, four years as a Recreation Director on his
home reserve, as well as an education in Police Sciences, and Information Technology.
Carole Bryant
rejoined the SIGA Board in January 2010. Carole is currently VP of Administration with the Ranch
Ehrlo Society. She has had a diverse career experience in social work, community development, HR, corporate
services, board governance and communication. Carole is the past president of the Saskatchewan Association of
Social Workers (SASW) and is a former past-president of the Regina Rotary Club. She was one of the founding
board members of SaskPower Commercial Inc. and has board experience with the Luther College Board of
Directors, Investment Saskatchewan and is a former President of the Regina and District Food Bank. Carole has
a master’s degree in social work. She completed her MBA from Queen’s University in Kingston and has her CPA
designation, in addition to being a certified Chartered Director.
Bob Gerow
was appointed to the SIGA Board of Directors by the Agency Chiefs Tribal Council (ACTC) in 2008.
Bob is a member of the Victoire Métis Local, has worked in First Nations Education and Administration for the
past 37 years. He is the V.P. of Askiy Forest Management and he is currently the Executive Director with the
Agency Chiefs Tribal Council. Bob holds a B.A., B.Ed., P.G.D. and a Master of Education (M.Ed.).
Chief Edward Henderson
of the Montreal Lake Cree Nation joined the Board in December 2005. He is past
Chair of Little Red Reserve School Authority and Woodland Cree Board. He currently serves on the boards of
PAGC Education, Forestry, Women’s Commission, Sports Culture and Recreation, Saskatchewan Indian Equity
Foundation, First Nations University of Canada and the Saskatchewan Indian Education & Training Commission.
1...,70,71,72,73,74,75,76,77,78,79 81,82,83,84,85,86,87,88,89,90,...92
Powered by FlippingBook