SIGA_Annual_Report_2015 - page 81

Amanda Louison
was appointed to the SIGA Board in March, 2012 and is a member of the Kahkewistahaw .
First Nation representing the Yorkton Tribal Council. This is the third time she has served on SIGA’s Board.
Amanda holds a diploma in Associate Administration from the University of Regina, and is a certified Chartered
Director. She was elected the first female Chief for Kahkewistahaw First Nation in 1995, and served on her .
Band Council for five terms.
Dr. Ron Martin
of the Fond-du-Lac First Nation was appointed to the SIGA Board on October 2012. Dr. Martin
completed his Native Law Program; a Bachelor of Arts Advanced Degree in Sociology; Bachelor of Science
Advanced Degree in Anatomy; and a Doctor of Medical Dentistry Degree, Dr. Martin is also a certified Chartered
Director. He owns and operates a busy and expanding dental practice (Dene Dent Family Dentistry) on Treaty 4
territory near Fort Qu’Appelle.
Chief Marie Ann Daywalker-Pelletier
was appointed from the File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council in early January,
2013 to the SIGA Board, and is a certified Chartered Director. Currently she is the Chief of Okanese First Nation,
and has filled the position since March, 1981 – serving a total of 32 consecutive years to date. Chief Daywalker-
Pelletier has sat on many boards. Currently she is the Chair of the Saskatchewan Indian Women’s Commission,
Chair of the TFHQ Safe Shelters and a commission member of the Health and Social Development Commission.
Kevin Poock
from the Battleford Tribal Council Management Corp. was appointed to the Board in February 2012
by the Battlefords Tribal Council. Kevin is a Chartered Financial Planner who has 25 years’ experience in the
financial services industry. He was instrumental in the financing and opening of the first four casinos operated by
SIGA. In 1998 he joined Battlefords Tribal Council to assist their Economic Development Division. He currently is
part of a group that manages several diversified businesses, holding companies, and analyzes new opportunities
for First Nations.
Chief Brian Standingready
has served 28 years as Chief of White Bear First Nation (re-elected in 2015).  He is
the longest serving SIGA Board member (Chairman 2003-2007; rejoined 2008), and is currently serving as Chair
for SIGA’s Strategic Affairs Committee. Chief Standingready has served on numerous boards, committees and
commissions (Chair of White Bear Lake Resort, White Bear Lake Golf Course Inc., Chair of Wabimusqua Oil and
Gas Ltd., Chair of White Bear Oil and Gas Ltd., Board of Director Treaty 4 Education Alliance). He was recipient of
the 2011 First Nation Canadian Gaming Awards – Lifetime Achievement Award.  
Chief Delbert Wapass
is a fluent speaker of the Cree language. He is from Thunderchild First Nation. .
Chief Wapass holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Native Studies from the University of Regina, and a Master of
Education (M.Ed.) from the University of Saskatchewan. Chief Wapass has previously served with the Federation
of Saskatchewan Indian Nations as both the Second and Third Vice Chief, with portfolio experience in economic
development, education and health. A very traditional and cultural person, Chief Wapass was raised by his
grandparents on the Thunderchild First Nation.
Ted Quewezance – Senator FSIN
is from the Keeseekoose First Nation. Elected to Council in 1977 he served
eight years. Ted also served as Communications Officer with the Saskatchewan Indian Federated College and was
later the Chief of Staff for the FSIN for eight years. Ted was elected in 1995 to be Chief of his community and
served three consecutive terms. He also served as an Advisor to the Assembly of First Nations for the Residential
School file. Ted continues to travel across Canada at speaking engagements as a survivor of residential schools.
Elder Edward
Ruby Williams
Board Secretary
1...,71,72,73,74,75,76,77,78,79,80 82,83,84,85,86,87,88,89,90,91,...92
Powered by FlippingBook