SIGA_Annual_Report_2015 - page 83

The Chair provides leadership by guiding the Board, coordinating its activities, and fostering relationships in the best
interests of the organization. The Chair, while working closely with the President and CEO, retains an independent
perspective to best represent the interests of SIGA, the Board, and the communities they serve. The Chair, on
behalf of the Board, reports to the FSIN Gaming Commission and the FSIN Legislative Assembly on the affairs of
the corporation, including all business aspects of casinos owned and operated by SIGA. The Chair, in turn, reports
to the Board of Directors any recommendations offered by the Gaming Commission and the Assembly. The Board
has delegated authority and assigned responsibility to the Board Chair for managing SIGA’s relationship with the
shareholders as per policy B03-012 Board Chair – Terms of Reference.
The Board of Directors was comprised of 13 Members for the 2014-2015 year. The Federation of Saskatchewan
Indian Nations and the Tribal Councils nominate these Members (one per Tribal Council). There is one independent
director appointed by the SIGA Board with financial expertise. Only individuals registered as gaming employees
under The Alcohol and Gaming Regulation Act 1997 may be Members of the Board.
As per the Casino Operating Agreement, the Board structure is comprised of no more than 13 Directors.
The 2014-2015 Directors are as follows:
Chief Reginald Bellerose
Chief Edward Henderson
Chief Darcy Bear replaced Tribal Chief Felix Thomas
Chief Brian Standingready
Robert Gerow
Chief Richard Ben
Carole Bryant
Chief Larry Ahenakew
Chief Delbert Wapass
Amanda Louison
Kevin Poock
Dr. Ron Martin
Chief Mary Anne Daywalker-Pelletier
The Board also has an Advisor:
Senate Advisor, Ted Quewzance replaced Roland Crowe
The Board may appoint any committees that it considers necessary for the efficient conduct of the affairs and
business of SIGA and may prescribe the duties of any committee it appoints. It is important to note that assignment
of responsibility by the Board to a committee does not absolve the full Board from responsibility for a committee’s
work or decisions. The Chair is ex-officio on all committees and may attend any meeting as deemed appropriate. All
committees have established terms of reference governing their conduct and mandate.
The Board has three (3) committees with established terms of reference governing their code and mandate. These
three committees are as follows: Audit and Finance, Governance (includes, Human Resource, Compensation &
Ethics and Governance mandates) and Strategic Affairs.
1...,73,74,75,76,77,78,79,80,81,82 84,85,86,87,88,89,90,91,92
Powered by FlippingBook