Board of Directors

Message from the Board Chair,

The Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority (SIGA) was created out of a social need to create jobs and opportunities for First Nations people. SIGA is owned by 74 First Nations of Saskatchewan (The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations (FSIN)), and it is an honour to represent the Board of Directors of the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority.

As stewards of the organization, the Board sets out a course for the future by implementing the strategic direction for the company. Always looking five years ahead, SIGA continues to reinvest in its facilities, its people and implement initiatives that focus on the outcomes required by our shareholders, customers and employees.

Since opening its doors, SIGA has generated over $1 billion in revenue for our beneficiaries. As a fairly young company, this is an outstanding accomplishment – one that we can all be proud of.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, we look forward to sharing in the success of our common vision.


Chief Reginald Bellerose


The Board of Directors
The Board of Directors is responsible for the stewardship of the organization and is ultimately accountable for the management of the affairs and business of SIGA. It has established a terms of reference addressing its principle duties and responsibilities as a Board. All of its directors are independent of management and no member of management serves as a director.

Board Chair
The Chair, as the presiding director, provides leadership in guiding the Board and coordinating its activities; and fosters Board relationships in the best interests of the organization. The Chair, while working closely with the President and CEO, retains an independent perspective to best represent the interests of SIGA, the Board and the communities they serve. The Chair, on behalf of the Board, reports to the FSIN Economic and Community Development Commission (ECDC) and the FSIN Legislative Assembly on the affairs of the corporation, including all business aspects of casinos owned or operated by SIGA. The Chair in turn reports to the Board of Directors any recommendations offered by ECDC and the Assembly. The Chair is a non-executive appointment.

The Board of Directors is comprised of not more than thirteen members. The Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations and the Tribal Councils appoint these members to the Board. Only individuals registered under The Alcohol and Gaming Regulation Act, 1997 may be members of the SIGA Board.


RegBellerose_WebBoard Chair – Chief Reginald Bellerose joined the Saskatchewan Indian Gaming Authority Board of Directors in 2008. He is in his sixth term as Chief of Muskowekan First Nation. Chief Bellerose has a bachelor of arts degree from Concordia University College in Edmonton and has completed a master’s degree in project management at the University of Saskatchewan.



DarcyBear_WebChief Darcy Bear is in his seventh consecutive term as Chief of the Whitecap Dakota First Nation. He holds a Business Administration Certificate and an Honorary Doctorate of Law from the U of S.  Chief Bear has also been the recipient of many awards including the Commemorative Medal for the Centennial of Saskatchewan in 2005; the Saskatchewan Order of Merit in 2011; and the Saskatchewan Diamond Jubilee in 2012. Recently, he was awarded the 2016 Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business Hall of Lifetime Achievement Award for his oversight of the transformation of the community, increasing opportunity and prosperity against formidable odds. He has dedicated half of his life to the betterment of his community and has been the driving force behind extensive economic development and an improved quality of life within the community. To date there has been approximately $100 million in capital investment in the community and a reduced unemployment rate from 70 per cent to 5 per cent.


RichardBen_WebChief Richard Ben joined the SIGA Board in October 2009. Prior to being elected as Chief of Makwa Sahgaiehcan First Nation, he had served one term as a band councillor. Chief Ben’s experience includes terms with the FSIN Education and Justice Commissions, and a number of boards with the Meadow Lake Tribal Council. Chief Ben’s background also includes three years in the army reserve, four years as a recreation director on his home reserve, as well as an education in police sciences and information technology.


connie_bigeagle_squareChief Connie Big Eagle is the Chief of Ocean Man First Nation. She has served her nation in leadership for 13 years as chief and on council. Chief Connie chairs the Yorkton Tribal Council Treasury Board, vice chairs the Treaty 4 Education Alliance and represents Saskatchewan on the Assembly of First Nations Women’s Council. Chief Big Eagle joined SIGA Board in August 2015.




Carole Bryant rejoined the SIGA Board in January 2010. Carole is currently VP of Administration with the Ranch Ehrlo Society. She has had a diverse career experience in social work, community development, HR, corporate services, board governance and communication. Carole is the past-president of the Saskatchewan Association of Social Workers (SASW) and is a former past-president of the Regina Rotary Club. She was one of the founding board members of SaskPower Commercial Inc. and has board experience with the Luther College Board of Directors, Investment Saskatchewan and is a former President of the Regina and District Food Bank. Carole has a master’s degree in social work. She completed her MBA from Queen’s University in Kingston and has her CPA designation.

Chief Tammy Cook-Searson

Chief Bobby Cameron

kenny_squareChief Kenny  Moccasin joined the SIGA Board in December 2015. Chief Moccasin was elected for a second term in 2015 to the position of Chief of the Saulteaux First Nation. Prior to being elected as a band councillor, Chief Moccasin completed his Computer IT Information Technology Diploma and worked in the education system for eight years as a Computer Technician/Networking/Teacher at the Saulteaux Heritage School and the NNEC School Division. He currently represents Battleford Agency Tribal Chiefs (BATC) on the SIGA Board, and was recently appointed as Tribal Chief in October 2015.

MarieAnnDaywalkerPelletier_WebChief Marie Ann Daywalker-Pelletier was appointed from the File Hills Qu’Appelle Tribal Council in early January, 2013 to the SIGA Board.  Currently she is the Chief of Okanese First Nation, and has filled the position since March, 1981 – serving a total of 35 consecutive years to date.  Chief Daywalker-Pelletier has sat on many boards and obtained professional director designation in 2015.  Currently she is the Chair of the Saskatchewan Indian Women’s Commission, Chair of the TFHQ Safe Shelters and a member of the Health and Social Development Commission.


KevinPoock_WebKevin Poock from the Battleford Tribal Council Management Corp. was appointed to the Board in February 2012 by the Battlefords Tribal Council. Kevin is a Chartered Financial Planner who has 25 years experience in the financial services industry. He was instrumental in the financing and opening of the first four casinos operated by SIGA. In 1998, he joined Battlefords Tribal Council to assist its Economic Development Division. Kevin currently is part of a group that manages several diversified businesses and holding companies, and analyzes new opportunities for First Nations.

Chief Nathan Pasap

John Charles Thomas – FSIN Senator